Singapore established diplomatic relations with the Union of Myanmar in 1966. However, it was only in May 1984 that the Embassy was opened in Yangon. Initially, it operated from Inya Lake Hotel before renting a bungalow house at 287 Pyay Road, Sanchaung Township, Yangon. The Embassy later moved to another rented premises at 326 Pyay Road, Sanchaung Township, Yangon on 11 June 1993. On 12 May 2003, the Embassy finally relocated to its permanent home at 238 Dhammazedi Road, Bahan Township, Yangon. Mr David Low was appointed the first Charge d'Affaires in Yangon. The Embassy's first Ambassador was Mr Calvin Eu who assumed his post on 20 June 1994. The current Ambassador is Ms Vanessa Chan who took up her post on 18 December 2017.


Key Staff Members

Ms Vanessa Chan

Mr Benedict Tan
Deputy Chief of Mission and Counsellor

Mr Koh Teow Huat

Ms Claudia Tan
Second Secretary (Political)

Mr Kelvin Kwan
Second Secretary (Admin and Consular)

Ms Vimalam D/O Marimuthu
Third Secretary (Singapore Cooperation)

Ms Seri Nur Haziqah

Commercial Section

Mr Tristan Koh

Travel Page