Embassy Staff Getting to the Embassy


Singapore officially established diplomatic relations with the Lao People's Democratic Republic on 02 December 1974.

The Singapore Embassy in Vientiane was first established in February 1997 with Mr Tan Seng Chye as the first Ambassador.  After Mr Tan, the following have served as Singapore Ambassadors in Laos:

Ms Seetoh Hoy Cheng from March 2000 to December 2003 
Ms Karen Tan from February 2004 to August 2007.  
Mr Benjamin Jeyaraj William from October 2007 to January 2011.  
Mr Dileep Nair from June 2011 to January 2013.
Ms Kang Siew Kheng from January 2013 to August 2014.
Mr Dominic Goh from 12 January 2015 to 26 July 2019.
Ms Leow Siu Lin from 29 July 2019 to 24 June 2023.

Mr Sudesh Keshavlal Maniar from 16 August 2023 to present.

Between 1997 and 2008, the Singapore Embassy operated out of a two-storey house located at Ban Naxay in Saysettha District.  On 1 Jan 2009, the Embassy moved into its new Chancery located along Thadeua Road towards the Lao-Thai Friendship Bridge, opposite UNICEF and near the Australian Embassy.

The mission of the Embassy is to safeguard the interests of Singaporeans visiting, living and working in Lao PDR, and to promote political, economic and cultural links between Singapore and Lao PDR.

If you wish to e-mail the Embassy, please click here.

Travel Page