Mr Peter Tan arrived in Japan on 27 October 2019 and presented his credentials to His Majesty the Emperor Naruhito on 12 February 2020.


Mr Tan was Deputy Secretary/Southeast Asia & ASEAN in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs from January 2015 to September 2019. Mr Tan was the Singapore Ambassador to the Republic of Korea (concurrently accredited to Mongolia) from February 2011 to January 2015.


Since joining the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1992, Mr Tan has served in various capacities on issues related to Southeast Asia, Northeast Asia, Europe, Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific, United Nations and Technical Cooperation. Mr Tan served in the Singapore Embassy in Tokyo as First Secretary from 1995 to 1998 and in the Singapore High Commission in Kuala Lumpur as Counsellor from 2001 to 2002.  He also served in the Singapore Embassy in Tokyo from 2002 to 2005 as Counsellor, and subsequently as Acting Minister-Counsellor and Deputy Chief of Mission.  Mr Tan was appointed as Second Director of the Southeast Asia Directorate on 27 December 2005, and served as Director from October 2006 to August 2010.


Mr Tan graduated with a Bachelor of Arts, Hons II Upper from the National University of Singapore in 1992.  He was awarded the Fulbright Scholarship and obtained his Master of Arts (East Asian Studies) from Columbia University, USA, in 2000.


Mr Tan was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Silver) in 2008. He is married to Madam Sim Siew Eng.  He enjoys cooking, karaoke, long-distance walking, watching sumo and soccer.


Former Heads of Mission


Since diplomatic relations were established in 1966, 11 previous Heads of Mission have served in the Embassy, including our former President of Singapore, the late Mr Wee Kim Wee (1915-2005).




Former Ambassadors of our Embassy include the following:


  • Dr Ang Kok Peng (June 1968 to April 1971)
  • Dr Loy Keng Foo (August 1971 to September 1972)
  • Wee Mon Cheng (June 1973 to August 1980)
  • Wee Kim Wee (September 1980 to April 1984)
  • Lee Khoon Choy (June 1984 to July 1988)
  • Cheng Tong Fatt (July 1988 to June 1991)
  • Lim Chin Beng (July 1991 to November 1997)
  • Chew Tai Soo (February 1998 to July 2004)
  • Tan Chin Tiong (October 2004 to January 2012)
  • Chin Siat Yoon (April 2012 to June 2017)
  • Lui Tuck Yew ( June 2017 to October 2019)

Travel Page