The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 19 major advanced and emerging economies and the European Union. The first G20 Summit was held in Washington, D.C. in November 2008, and was convened by the US in response to the emerging financial crisis then. Subsequent G20 Summits have been held in London (April 2009), Pittsburgh (September 2009), Toronto (June 2010), Seoul (November 2010), Cannes (November 2011), Los Cabos (June 2012), St Petersburg (September 2013), Brisbane (November 2014), Antalya (November 2015), Hangzhou (September 2016), Hamburg (July 2017), Buenos Aires (December 2018), Osaka (June 2019)and Rome (October 2021). The G20 Summit in November 2020 was held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Singapore, although not a G20 member, has been invited to participate in the G20 Summits and its related processes from 2010 to 2011 and from 2013 to 2020. Singapore has usually been invited as the Convenor of the Global Governance Group (3G), which is an informal grouping of 30 small and medium-sized members of the United Nations established by Singapore in 2009 to, inter alia, promote greater dialogue between the G20 and the broader UN membership.


Indonesia assumed the one-year 2022 G20 Presidency from 1 December 2021 under the theme “Recover Together, Recover Stronger” and its five priorities are in the areas of: (a) Promoting Productivity; (b) Increasing Resilience and Stability; (c) Ensuring Sustainable and Inclusive Growth; (d) Enabling Environment and Partnership; and (e) Forging a Stronger Collective Global Leadership. Singapore will continue to actively contribute to the G20 discussions through our capacity as the Convenor of the 3G.

 More information can be found on the official G20 website.

Travel Page