About the Ambassador

Key Staff Members


Following the establishment of formal diplomatic relations between Singapore and Thailand on 20 September 1965, the Singapore Embassy in Thailand was established in 1966.


The Embassy had a humble beginning working out of the office of its first Ambassador, Mr Tan Siak Kew, at the Four Seas Communications Bank before renting a house along North Sathorn Road (No. 90).


The Embassy moved into its permanent home at 129 South Sathorn Road, the heart of the Central Business District, in 1974.


On 24 November 2011, the Singapore Embassy was honoured to host a first-ever visit to the Embassy by Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn.


The Embassy is headed by Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Her Excellency Catherine Wong, who is the 12th Head of Mission from Singapore accredited to Thailand. 



The following have served as Singapore Ambassadors in Thailand:


 Mr Tan Siak Kew  Aug 1966 – Aug 1967
 Mr Ho Rih Hwa    Sep 1967 – Apr 1971
 Mr Chi Owyang    Aug 1971 – Mar 1988
 Mr Tan Seng Chye    Mar 1988 – Sep 1990
 BG Chin Siat Yoon   Sep 1990 – Dec 1994
 Mr Wong Kwok Pun   Jan 1995 – Dec 1998
 Mr Calvin Eu Mun Hoo   Jan 1999 – Dec 2001
 Mr Chan Heng Wing   Jan 2002 – Oct 2005
 Mr Peter Chan Jer Hing   Nov 2005 – Mar 2012
 Ms Chua Siew San   Mar 2012 – May 2019
 Mr Kevin Cheok   May 2019 – Sep 2023
 Ms Catherine Wong   Feb 2024 – present




The Embassy of the Republic of Singapore
129 South Sathorn Road
Bangkok 10120 

web 1

web 4



Web 2


Travel Page