The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 20 major advanced and emerging economies (19 countries plus the European Union).  The first G20 Summit was held in Washington in November 2008, and was convened by the US in response to the emerging financial crisis then.  Since the G20 Washington Summit, there have been G20 Summits in London (April 2009), Pittsburgh (September 2009), Toronto (June 2010), Seoul (November 2010), Cannes (November 2011), Los Cabos (June 2012), St Petersburg (September 2013), Brisbane (November 2014), Antalya (November 2015), Hangzhou (September 2016) and Hamburg (July 2017).

Singapore, although not a G20 member, has been invited to participate in the G20 Summits and its related processes in 2010 and 2011 and from 2013 to 2018.  Singapore is a member of the Global Governance Group (3G), an informal grouping of 30 small and medium-sized countries which aims to promote greater transparency and inclusivity in the G20 process by encouraging stronger linkages between the G20 and the broader UN membership.


Singapore will participate in the G20 Leaders’ Summit in Buenos Aires from 30 November to 1 December 2018.  The theme is “Building consensus for fair and sustainable development”. 

More information can be found on the official G20 website.

Last updated: December 2017