Implementation of New Stay-Home Notice


17 February 2020


A new “Stay-Home Notice” (SHN) will take effect from 18 February 2020, 2359 hours, and will apply to all Singapore residents and long-term pass holders returning to Singapore with recent travel history to mainland China (outside of Hubei) within the last 14 days. Under the SHN, they will have to remain in their place of residence at all times during the 14-day period. This is stricter than the existing Leave of Absence (LOA) regime, which had allowed returnees to leave their homes briefly, for example, for their meals. Those placed on the SHN will be reminded to monitor their health closely and minimise contact with others.


The SHN will also cover returning workers from mainland China on work passes. For such workers, their employers are required to seek prior approval from the Ministry of anpower (MOM) before they travel back to Singapore.


For more details, please refer to MOM’s press release at

Travel Page