

(21-0622) Page: ¹/1

Original: English

21 January 2021

JOINT STATEMENT ON AGRICULTURE EXPORT PROHIBITIONS OR RESTRICTIONS RELATING TO THE WORLD FOOD PROGRAMME

The following communication, dated 20 January 2021, is being circulated at the request of the delegations of Albania; Angola; Australia; Kingdom of Bahrain; Bangladesh; Brazil; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chad; Chile; Colombia; Costa Rica; Ecuador; El Salvador; European Union; Fiji; The Gambia; Grenada; Guyana; Iceland; Israel; Jamaica; Japan; Republic of Korea; the State of Kuwait; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Liechtenstein; Mali; Mauritius; Mexico; Republic of Moldova; Mongolia; Montenegro; Myanmar; New Zealand; North Macedonia; Norway; Paraguay; Peru; Qatar; Saint Lucia; Samoa; Kingdom of Saudi Arabia; Singapore; Switzerland; the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu; Thailand; Ukraine; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom; United States; Uruguay; and Viet Nam.

We recognize the critical humanitarian support provided by the World Food Programme, made more urgent in light of the COVID-19 pandemic and other crises.

We therefore commit to not impose export prohibitions or restrictions on foodstuffs purchased for non-commercial humanitarian purposes by the World Food Programme.